Thank you! And you. And you.

Did you know that simply saying “thank you” can make you happier?  Check out this post from the blog of one of the hottest new apps of the year, Happier.

How to be happier: Thank someone

Posted on May 6, 2013 by 

Try this:

Think of one person right now who has done something that you appreciate and thank them.

It doesn’t have to be a big thing or something that happened recently. A colleague bring you a coffee back? A friend text you when you needed a virtual hug? Your kids clean up their dishes without being told ten times? Your spouse or partner make you smile with a little unexpected gift?

Once you have this person in mind find a way to say thank you. If you can do it in person, awesome. But an email or a text or hey, even getting an old-fashioned paper card to send to them is great. If you want to get all fancy you could find a small gift to give to them (a cup of their favorite drink might be as fancy a gift as you need to think about).

There’s a lot of research that shows expressing gratitude helps you feel happier. But try thanking someone today and our bet is that you won’t need to read any of it :)

According to the fabulous co-founder of Happier, Nataly Kogan, you can chemically change your brain to be more positive by sharing what makes you … happier.  I had the wonderful experience of working with Nataly a few years ago. She’s a dynamo and passionate about practicing what she preaches.

And the moment you feel like thanking someone – try to take the time to seize it.   Over the winter, I learned that one of the people who most inspired and encouraged me during my teen years was ill.  Martha Brown was the epitome of southern kindness and grace.  She was the first to hug my sisters and me when we first visited my dad in ICU in the summer of 1980, a few months before he died.  She was my Sunday School teacher during precious high school years, and our relationship was so special that she directed my wedding to the love of my life.  Greg (that would be the love of my life) called her the “Vince Lombardi of weddings” after the energetic pep talk she gave our wedding party.  She simply lit up a room.

Martha and I exchanged sweet holiday cards over the years — and whenever I saw her she made me feel like the most extraordinary person in the room.  When I heard Martha was sick and likely dying, I thought every day, I’m going to write.  I’m going to call.  Can you tell where this story is going?  I finally wrote that special note and sent the card.  But she was gone before it reached her.  I should have said “thank you” sooner.

I kinda think the world will be a “More Good” place if we all take time to say thank you, just a little more often.  So, THANK YOU to my mom, my sisters, my brother, my ‘nother sisters and brothers, my hard-working and fun husband, my sweet children, my dear friends, and so many more.

Whom will you thank today?

 

One thought on “Thank you! And you. And you.

Leave a comment